John Williams: Spirit of the Guitar


John Williams: Spirit of the Guitar - Music of the Americas

Spirit of the Guitar: Music of the Americas

CBS/Sony 44898
Recorded 1988
Released 1989
Producer: John Williams
Engineers: Mike Stavrou & Matt Howe

  • Andrew York: Sunburst [03.32]
  • Agustin Barrios-Mangore: Aconquija [03.51]
  • Agustin Barrios-Mangore: Una limosna por el amor de Dios (La Ultima Canción) [03.21]
  • Astor Piazzolla: Verano Porteño Arr. Benitez [04.42]
  • Andrew York: Lullaby [03.42]
  • Manuel Ponce: Scherzino Mexicano [02.28]
  • Antonio Lauro: Three Waltzes Natalia [02.48]
  • Antonio Lauro: Three Waltzes El niño [02.29]

  • Antonio Lauro: Three Waltzes Maria Luisa [02.30]
  • Agustin Barrios-Mangore: Cueca [03.22]
  • Leo Brouwer: Berceuse [03.49]
  • Leo Brouwer: Danza Caracteristica [02.02]
  • Charlie Byrd: Three Blues for Classic Guitar
    Spanish Guitar Blues [02.06]
    Blues for Felix [02.08]
    Swing 59 [01.02]
  • Heitor Villa-Lobos: Chôros No. 1 [03.40]
  • Julio S. Sagreras: El Colibri [01.14]
  • Jorge Gomez Crespo: Norteña [03.51]

Re-issue Notes
The Guitar Album (1994) includes Verano Porteño, Scherzino Mexicano and the three Lauro waltzes;
The World of John Williams (1996) includes Sunburst and El niņo ;
Classic Williams: Romance of the Guitar (2001) includes: Sunburst, Verano Porteño, Scherzino Mexicano, Natalia, Brouwer Berceuse;
The Ultimate Guitar Collection (2004) includes: Sunburst, Scherzino Mexicano, Blues for Felix and El Colibri.

It is also worth noting that this is the last John Williams album to be released on vinyl; within a year, CBS was to become Sony Classical, which understandably chose not to produce vinyl albums for sale.

Design and content copyright Richard Sliwa © 1998-2006